kc goes to a silent disco

“Come discover…how it feels to hang out alone together.”

Ever wonder what it’d be like to be in a room full of people, and still be alone? That’s kind of how Saturday went. I attended a silent disco at the Museum of Contemporary Art Cleveland (“MOCA”) and co-hosted by Thrive Cleveland. When I told people about this, the first question I received was, What is a silent disco? Answer (according to the event website): “It’s a party where people dance to music listened to on wireless headphones. Those without the headphones hear no music, giving the effect of a room full of people dancing to nothing.” Second question (that I was actually asked numerous times) — Do they really play disco music? Answer: No, it was your average club music, included mostly songs everyone knows (at least some) of the words to, and featured a live set by DJ Steph Floss.

They say when one of your five senses become dull, that the other ones kick into overdrive. Well, imagine that concept flipped: put one sense into overdrive and guess what happens? Having headphones on full blast let me block out almost everyone and everything around me. I wasn’t looking at others dancing, I wasn’t listening to my friends talking… I wasn’t worried about anyone but myself. I was just there, singing, dancing, and enjoying myself. It was an experience unlike any other.

I’m sure we were being studied as part of one giant social experiment, but I didn’t mind at all, and I would do it again in a heartbeat. For just $12, we gained access to the silent disco along with four floors of exhibits at MOCA – alcohol extra (duh). Below are some pictures from the night (more from Cleveland Scene here) along with a couple videos I took to try and capture the feel of the night.

Photo courtesy of Cleveland Scene

Photo courtesy of Cleveland Scene

Photo courtesy of Cleveland Scene

Photo courtesy of Cleveland Scene

IMG_20150524_110840

Photo courtesy of this big mirror thing by the bar

IMG_20150526_091943

Photo courtesy of some chick on the street

First song of the night – can you guess what it is before the video ends? Also please note someone saying, “We sound really dumb” — this means the alcohol has not kicked in yet. I think everyone was still getting comfortable with the concept of a silent disco.

A little later in the night… can you tell we have more alcohol in our system? Sorry I’m not sorry for capturing your lovely voices on video, dear sweet friends of mine.

All in all, this shit was the bomb.

Leave a comment